Watercolor

I decided to dig out my set of watercolor pencils.  Normally, when I create I have a goal in mind.  My drawing tools and paper are usually for design concepts.  Yesterday and today there was no goal, no other project in mind.  I wanted just to doodle and play.  I often have the mindset that I must have some specific project or design dreamed up before I can allow myself to work.  This thinking has prevented me from enjoying crafting for its own sake.  It is okay if I make something that will not be a present or worthy of hanging on a wall.  I have been to several artist exhibitions where a portion of the exhibit is devoted to doodles that were never intended for display.  These doodles are a part of a body of work that can eventually lead to breakthroughs in technique and masterpieces.

A few weeks ago, I was with a friend in downtown Lewisburg, PA.  We visited a wonderful art supplies store called Brushstrokes.  I purchased the following ink pens: Faber-Castell PITT artist pen size B black 199***, Sakura Pigma micron 05, and Sakura Pigma micron 005.  I did not buy them for any specific task other than the notion that I might want to draw in the near future and that the pens I did have might be dried out.  All of the pens in my collection prior to this were acquired when my husband decided that he didn’t want to keep any of his supplies from a drawing class he took in college.

Using my design concepts pad, I played around with my watercolor pencils and new pens.   The paper on this pad is not quite thick enough for watercolor.  I went out to JoAnn fabrics to pick up watercolor paper.  This is how I learned that they do not carry quality art paper, per se.  I was directed to the dollar bin by an employee.  There I found 5 x 7″  Royal & Langnickel Essentials(TM) artist  pads.  I decided to buy the one made of watercolor paper and another of tracing paper.  While it is recommended to use the largest paper you can afford for doodling,  (so that you do not feel confined to the size of the page) I was intrigued by the size and liked that I didn’t have to shell out ten dollars or more in order to experiment with the proper paper.

I spent most of my time experimenting.  I do not have any formal watercolor training.  I did find a YouTube video of a man using a razor to shave watercolor pencil lead onto the paper and then taking a large brush to spread the color.  The man said that this technique can be used when you need to color a large area, but do not want to see any pencil marks, such as when rendering a sky.  I found that if I wet the paper,  shaved the pencil, and then left it to dry, a sort of confetti appearance can be achieved.  Aside from the doodles, I made scenes of a sunset, an imaginary planet based on Jupiter, and a city-scape.

About Erin

I am a watercolor and embroidery artist who loves going to art exhibits and meeting other artists.
This entry was posted in Making art/crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

