Dream

When I was a child, I had a recurring dream where I would see coins on the ground.  After picking one up, more would appear a few feet away.  Quarters pennies, dimes, and nickels covered the side walk and street.  I would begin to feel amazement at my luck and the weight in my hands.  Whenever I see money on the ground, I am reminded of those dreams, but reality is never quite so impressive.

Today, I was walking through my neighborhood and came to an intersection on a divided street.  As I waited for traffic to pass, a copper shine caught my eye.  As I reached for the penny, another one was just a few inches away.  I quickly looked up to check for cars before pocketing the second one.  Then there were three more, farther into the street, and I wanted those too.  The more pennies I saw, the less careful I became.  I realized that my behavior was foolish, and that I needed to stop, but it was just like my dreams.  I imagined the headline, “Woman killed on Oak Street, pennies in hand”, and counted twelve of them.  There were still a few more, but I managed to stop myself.  As I walked on, I realized how easy it was for me to risk myself and my goal (a trip to see some art, downtown) for some change that I didn’t need to survive.

About Erin

I am a watercolor and embroidery artist who loves going to art exhibits and meeting other artists.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

