Commitment to Art and Craft

This past year, I made a commitment to work consistently on watercolor.  I also began attending a sketch club in order to improve my ability to draw people.  There were also some YouTube videos which helped my skills tremendously.  Proko focuses on drawing human figures and John Muir Laws, a naturalist, demonstrates how to draw animals and plants.  I recently went through all of the paintings and drawings I did in 2014 and placed the loose ones in my basement.  Comparing my work from the beginning of the year to that produced last month helped to give me a sense of progress.

Painting from beginning of 2014 - this was the extent of my ability to paint birds.  The image is based on a postcard I saw from the early 1900's

Painting from beginning of 2014 – this was the extent of my ability to paint birds. The image is based on a postcard I saw from the early 1900’s

This is the last bird I painted, in January of 2015.

This is the last bird I painted, in January of 2015.

 

The other week, I realized that I missed embroidery.  All of my other craft supplies hadn’t been touched in over a year.  I decided to put my watercolors away for a few weeks to finish old projects and start a few new ones.  I would like to use my improved drawing skills to create some new embroidery designs.  After seeing all of the progress I have made in a year, I would like to make a commitment to spend even more time working on my art.

 

cuttlefishprogress

Cuttlefish image I began over a year ago. My new magnifying lamp is making it much easier to work on this piece.

DSCN1233

Here is last weekend’s brooch. I had made the felt about a year ago, but I didn’t quite know what I wanted to do with it. The grey ribbon is left over from my wedding invitation project and was attached to the felt using the colonial knot. I learned this stitch this past weekend. It is faster and smaller than a french knot and uses less yarn. I still like the french knot and would still use it for a certain look.

 

About Erin

I am a watercolor and embroidery artist who loves going to art exhibits and meeting other artists.
This entry was posted in Making art/crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

