Water Lily Embroidery

Water Lily

Water Lily

 

I’ve spent the last few weeks on the above embroidery project. The design came from a watercolor series I did about a year ago. I love to use circles in my watercolor work and I wanted to see how this would translate to fiber art.

Circle worked with chain stitch.

Circle worked with chain stitch.

 

First ring of water.  The chain stitches are filled with a reverse colonial knot.

First ring of water. The chain stitches are filled with a reverse colonial knot.

 

Petals worked with picot stitch.

Petals worked with woven picot stitch.

One of my goals for 2016 is to explore stump work.  The woven picot is a new stitch for me and I learned it from Mary Corbet’s YouTube video: Woven Picot.  She also has an excellent website called Needle N’ Thread.

 

 

About Erin

I am a watercolor and embroidery artist who loves going to art exhibits and meeting other artists.
This entry was posted in Making art/crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

