Learning Stumpwork: Wire Shapes

 

DSCN1826 - Copy

Water lily has been cleaned and is being stretched.

After finishing the water lily piece I discussed in my last entry, I decided to spend some time learning a new technique.  I’ve watched several YouTube videos on wire shapes and decided that this is what I wanted to explore next.  Some of the shapes that I’ve seen done include wings, petals, and leaves.  This Russian video was very helpful: Russian stumpwork video

DSCN1810 - Copy

Tacked down wire

DSCN1813 - Copy

Filled in middle with satin stitching

DSCN1815 - Copy

Buttonhole stitch around wire.

DSCN1825 - Copy

Shape has been cut out and now can be molded.

I will probably practice this a few more times to play around with different advice and instructions I’ve come across to see what I like best.

About Erin

I am a watercolor and embroidery artist who loves going to art exhibits and meeting other artists.
This entry was posted in Making art/crafts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

