Four Seashells

About a week ago I sifted through the paintings I made this past year, and I realized that I had already forgotten about some of the work I had done.  Usually, when I finish a series, I will scan the images and then toss them into a large plastic bin that I keep under a table.  When I was in college, I took a non-credit wheel thrown pottery class that was being given by a fellow student at the university craft center.  She told me that when she was taught to wheel throw in high school, she was instructed not to keep any of her work until she had been creating steadily for at least a year.  Her teacher told her that often students will become very attached to their first pieces, which are always terrible, and not focus on improving their technique.  He wanted them to be always in the moment of current creations, at least in the beginning of their journey.  This way, even if they really liked a piece they made, they would develop a faith in their ability to produce even better work in the future.  This probably also saved the school a lot of money, since dried clay can be reconstituted for future learning.  So my plastic bin is an off-shoot of this technique, except that I don’t want to throw out my paintings, but be able to let them go and look at them objectively months later.  Below, I’ve posted a series of seashells I painted in the beginning of November.

snailshellsignedscallop
musselsfirst-shell

About Erin

I am a watercolor and embroidery artist who loves going to art exhibits and meeting other artists.
This entry was posted in Making art/crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

